Staying Connected

     Staying connected with the popular culture of young adult literature can be difficult, especially if you are not a young adult. This is the situation for me and many other parents, teachers, and librarians who want to help inspire a love of reading in young adolescents. As a pre-professional teacher, I, and many others like me, consider it their duty to stay well-informed and stocked up on the the latest, greatest, and most entertaining literary titles. If you’re not constantly exposed to the popular culture of young adult reading (like me), here’s a couple ways to stay plugged in:

  • Join a Facebook group, blog, web page, or academic site dedicated to young adult literature
  • Follow your favorite young adult authors on twitter
  • Create an account on goodreads.com
  • And it couldn’t hurt to browse the young adult literature section of Barnes & Noble every once in a while

     Personally, I find it easy to follow my favorite authors and young adult literature advocates on twitter. This allows me to see what my favorite authors are creating or reading right on my phone. Personally I follow:

Donalyn Miller

IMG_2301

Administrator of the “Book Whisperer” website who seeks to inspire children to love reading.

And Hope Larson

IMG_2300

An illustrator and cartoonist who created one of my favorite graphic novels, A Wrinkle in Time: The Graphic Novel.

     Another one of my personal favorite ways to stay connected is through my goodreads account.

http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/17633035-christina

     Through this website, I guess you could call it literary networking, I can log all of my favorite reads. I can keep track of which books I loved, and which ones I don’t ever want to read again. I can add books to my wish-list, and submit updates of my current reads. The scale ratings and comments for literary pieces can help a reader decide if a book is worth pursuing. As a busy young adult, this also helps me keep track of the plethora of young adult novels I intended to explore for my future students and classroom.

     There are plenty of ways to stay connected  with the world of young adult literature, all you have to do is find the one that works for you!

Leave a comment

Filed under Essays and Reflections

Leave a Reply

